Frank Zamora Top 10 State Finalist for Teacher of the Year

A Hall County teacher has been named a finalist in the Georgia Department of Education’s annual Teacher of the Year competition.

Francisco “Frank” Zamora teaches U.S. History at Johnson High School. He is among nine other finalists from varying school districts in the state competing for the title of Teacher of the Year.

Zamora will join the other finalists at a luncheon Monday, where they will all give a speech and meet with a panel of judges for a formal interview.

The winner will be announced on May 2019.

Zamora was initially selected as Johnson High’s teacher of the year, then as the Hall County School District teacher of the year. Then, his application for the 2020 title was chosen from a pool of applicants and read by a panel of judges, according to a press release from the DOE. The applicants were chosen based on the strength of their essay responses.

Other finalists include Kristen Applebee with the Georgia Academy of the Blind, Amy Arnold with Colham Ferry Elementary School, Dr. David Bishop Collins with Fernbank Science Center, Carlos Hernandez with General Ray Davis Middle School, Lewis Kelly with Newton High School, Tracey Nance Pendley with Burgess Peterson Academy, Stephanie Peterson with Westside Elementary School, Kiana Pinckney with Palmetto Elementary School and Teresa Thompson with South Tattnall Middle School.